ASHNHA Quality & Patient Safety Awards

The Golden Stethoscope Award

Description and Eligibility

The Golden Stethoscope Award recognizes a healthcare advance practice provider or physician who consistently demonstrates his/her commitment to supporting and/or leading efforts that result in measurable improvements in the delivery of safe patient care.  


    • Active participation/engagement on facility-based patient safety committees.
    • Collaboration with facility personnel in developing protocols and / or care plans that include patient safety measures.
    • Active surveillance and reporting of safety concerns; brings forth suggestions for improvement.
    • Willingness to educate/ reinforce messages regarding patient safety with employees, patients, family, and community members as needed.
    • Serves as a role model and example for other providers to follow, such as holding “crucial conversations” with peers as needed.
    • Consistently demonstrates the principles of high reliability.

Front-Line Staff Outstanding Performance Award

Description and Eligibility

The Front-Line Staff Outstanding Performance Award recognizes an individual or team at an Alaskan hospital or nursing home that has demonstrated above and beyond safety related performance in the workplace. The nomination may describe a system or process improvement, or noteworthy front-line staff performance of safety practices.


    • Volunteering to take on additional patient safety project(s).
    • Teambuilding activities that empower and encourage others, resulting in increased patient safety.
    • Front-line staff ingenuity that solves organizational level challenges.
    • Engagement in lean projects focused on patient safety issues.
    • Development, implementation, and spread of an effective process to decrease workplace violence.
    • The nominee has been instrumental in the implementation of a major process improvement measure around high reliability.
    • Helping other staff improve workspace and environment.

Innovation in Transformation of Patient Safety and Quality, High Reliability Award

Description and Eligibility

The Innovation in Transformation Awards recognizes hospitals and/or nursing homes that have developed and addressed patient family engagement or implemented innovative patient safety and/or quality process, project, or program, with measurably improved outcomes and/or have hardwired in a quality processes, project, or program, resulting in consistent high reliability in reduction of patient harm. As well, projects will be considered that have improved patient safety/high reliability through addressing social determinants of health / health equity.

Award Categories

    • Hospitals and Nursing Homes: <=25 beds (2 awards; hospital and nursing home)
    • Hospitals and Nursing Homes: >25 beds (2 awards; hospital and nursing home)


    • Engaging patients and families to improve outcomes.
    • Eliminating bed alarms by substituting other best practices.
    • Electronic health record utilization for effective change.
    • Care transition practices linking hospitals and nursing homes.
    • Systematic reductions in harm resulting from initiation of clinical bundles.
    • Implementing coordinated strategies that impact work across different sectors helping communities with social, economic, and environmental barriers that lead to poor health outcomes and health disparities.
    • Patient care strategies which rely on data about patients’ social risks to adapt medical care or improve patients’ social circumstances directly.
    • Example:

2020 ASHNHA Quality and Patient Safety Awards – Summary of award nominees and winners

2019 ASHNHA Quality and Patient Safety AwardsSummary of award nominees and winners